Skip to main content

Secretariat & Board Members.


The secretariat is based in Wellington and is a small team of dedicated individuals working towards improving modern medicines access for New Zealand patients.

staff image

Dr Graeme Jarvis

Chief Executive Officer

staff image

Monica Franklin

Board Secretary/Office Manager

staff image

Kristen Edwards

Communications Advisor

027 534 6461

staff image

Phyllida Duncan

Science and Technical Advisor

Board Members.

The governing body of Medicines New Zealand is its Board of Directors which consists of an Independent Chairman and eight members of whom are chief executive officers from member companies.

staff image

Lee Mathias

Independent Board Chairman

staff image

Alan Carter

Vice Chairman, Country Manager, Sanofi

staff image

Michael Broome

Chief Executive, Healthcare Logistics

staff image

Lizzie Champion

General Manager, GSK

staff image

Paul Smith

Managing Director, Merck Sharp and Dohme

staff image

Ian Black

Managing Director, Roche

staff image

Tim Jones

Country Group Manager, Novartis

staff image

Andrew Tompkin

Country Manager, AbbVie

staff image

Louise Graham

Director, Head of Market Access ANZ, Pfizer


Our members are engaged in the research, development, manufacture and marketing of prescription medicines and vaccines. These medicines help keep New Zealanders out of hospital, prevent and treat disease and play a pivotal role in ensuring a healthy active community.

Associate Members.